882 Canada Year Book 1978-79

and the tribunal sits at such times and places as the chairman considers necessary. The tribunal has all powers, rights and privileges of a superior court of record. Its decisions or orders are subject to review and are to be set aside by the Federal Court of Appeal. The tribunal is under the jurisdiction of the minister of justice but is independent of the justice department.

Anti-Inflation Board. An interim board was created by order-in-council 1975-2429, October 14, 1975. It was replaced December 15, 1975 by the Anti-Inflation Board (AIB) which was established by the Anti-Inflation Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.75 amended by SC 1976, c.98). Under the act, the board administers guidelines enacted to restrict price and wage increases. It is required to monitor changes in prices, profits, compensation and dividends; to consult and negotiate with the parties involved to bring such changes within the guidelines; and to inform the public about inflation and its causes. These controls were to be phased out between April 14 and December 31, 1978. The board consists of a chairman, vice-chairman and five regional members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

Army Benevolent Fund Board. The board, established by the Army Benevolent Fund Act (SC 1947, c.49, as amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.3), administers the Army Benevolent Fund and other like funds, from special accounts set up in the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The board awards grants from the special account to veterans or their dependents for relief, if none is available from government sources, and for educational assistance, contingent on need and continued progress. The board has five members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, one of them nominated by the Royal Canadian Legion and one by the National Council of Veterans Associations in Canada. Head office is in Ottawa. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of veterans affairs.

Atlantic Development Council (Atlantic Development Council Canada). Created under the 1969 Government Organization Act (SC 1968-69, c.28), the council is composed of 11 members, including a chairman and vice-chairman, appointed by the Governor-in-Council to reflect the economic structure of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. Its function is to advise the minister of regional economic expansion, in respect of the Atlantic region, on matters to which his duties, powers and functions extend, and particularly on plans, programs and proposals for fostering the economic expansion and social adjustment of the Atlantic region, and the feasibility and merits of particular programs and projects.

Atomic Energy Control Board. By act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.A-19) proclaimed October 1946, the regulation and control of atomic energy in Canada was placed under the Atomic Energy Control Board. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (RSC 1970, c.A-19) to take over from the National Research Council in April 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project. Its main activities include scientific research and engineering development in the atomic energy field, the development, design and marketing of nuclear power systems, and the production of radioactive isotopes and associated equipment, such as cobalt-60 beam therapy units for the treatment of cancer. AECL is responsible for construction and operation of heavy water plants and research and development involving heavy water production methods. The company reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Bank of Canada. Legislation of 1934 (RSC 1970, c.B-2) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment as far as possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank of Canada acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation in Canada. It is managed by a board of directors appointed by the government, composed of a governor, a deputy governor and 12 directors; the deputy minister of finance is also a member of the board (ex officio). The bank reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

Blue Water Bridge Authority. Created by the Blue Water Bridge Authority Act (SC 1964, c.6), this nonprofit organization is responsible for the operation of the Canadian portion of the bridge spanning the St. Clair River from Point Edward, Ont., to Port Huron, Mich. Tolls set are subject to approval of the Canadian Transport Commission. All toll moneys must be used for the operation and maintenance of the present bridge or for building a new one. The authority is not an agent of the Crown but its members are appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the minister of transport for terms ranging from one to five years.

Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors. Established under the Canada Lands Survey Act (RSC 1970, c.L-5), the board examines candidates: for admission as articled pupils; for commissions as